About the author

Louisa May Alcott (; November 29, 1832 – March 6, 1888) was an American novelist, short story writer and poet better known as the author of the novel Little Women (1868) and its sequels Little Men (1871) and Jo's Boys (1886). Raised in New England by her transcendentalist parents, Abigail May and Amos Bronson Alcott, she grew up among many of the well-known intellectuals of the day, such as Ralph Waldo Emerson, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Henry David Thoreau, and Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.

Alcott's family suffered from financial difficulties, and while she worked to help support the family from an early age, she also sought an outlet in writing. She began to receive critical success for her writing in the 1860s. Early in her career, she sometimes used the pen name A. M. Barnard, under which she wrote novels for young adults that focused on spies and revenge.

Published in 1868, Little Women is set in the Alcott family home, Orchard House, in Concord, Massachusetts, and is loosely based on Alcott's childhood experiences with her three sisters, Abigail May Alcott Nieriker, Elizabeth Sewall Alcott, and Anna Alcott Pratt. The novel was well-received at the time and is still a popular children's novel today. It has been adapted to film several times.

Alcott was an abolitionist and a feminist and remained unmarried throughout her life. She died from a stroke, two days after her father died, in Boston on March 6, 1888.

Read sample
Read

A Whisper in the Dark

Back when Louisa May Alcott was an aspiring author she took to the art of telling of short stories – much like her character Jo March in ‘Little Women’.

This collection features 12 of her most thrilling and chilling stories, covering aspects of treachery, drug use, control, desire, sexual conflict, suicide, obsession – and even the supernatural.
Named after the gothic masterpiece 'A Whisper in the Dark', which is one of the 12 stories included, the anthology demonstrates the remarkable range and complexity of Alcott's work.

Fans of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn and Agatha Christie will find plenty to love in 'A Whisper in the Dark: Twelve Thrilling Tales'.
Louisa May Alcott (1832-1888) was an American writer of numerous beloved novels, short stories and poems. She was a feminist, and many of her stories are loosely based on her own life experiences. She is primarily known for her young adult fiction but also wrote gothic thrillers, albeit anonymously, and sensational stories under the pen name A.M. Barnard. One of her best-known works is "Little Women", a novel that has been turned into numerous film and television adaptations, such as the 2019 film, starring Saorise Ronan, Florence Pugh and Timothée Chalamet.
2,59  USD
Buy Epub (e-book)
Incl. streaming access
Edition
Printed pages496 Sider
Publish date30 May 2022
Published bySAGA Egmont
Languageeng
ISBN epub9788728196106