Certain Personal Matters

Buy Epub (e-book)
Incl. streaming access
6,41  USD
‘Certain Personal Matters’ is an intriguing and entertaining collection of essays by H.G. Wells that range from satirical political sketches to scientific speculations. Wells’ shorts shed unparalleled light on the author’s life such as a harrowing and intimate recollection of his battle with tuberculosis. Many essays discuss topics that remain relevant like social inequalities although Wells uses his humour and wit to ensure these articles remain engaging. Some of the essays contain science fiction material, providing an incredible insight into the author’s later ventures into the genre. Among the most interesting essays are ‘The Book of Curses’ about a man doomed to be unpopular as he collects swear words from people he encounters and ‘The Amateur Nature-Lover’ that comically ponders where abandoned boots come from. ‘Certain Personal Matters’ will satisfy Wells readers with its scientific discussions while also providing a different perspective on the celebrated author by portraying his humour. This collection is a must-read for fans of Wells and ‘The Twilight Zone’. H. G. Wells (1866-1946) was a celebrated English writer, remembered mostly for his science fiction works. Often described as a futurist, H. G. Wells’ influence cannot be overstated for his works foresaw many technological innovations such as space travel, the atomic bomb, and the Internet. A four-time Nobel Prize in Literature nominee, Wells explored a wide array of themes in his works, from religion to social criticism and beyond. Some of his best works include the time-travel novel ‘The Time Machine’, the sci-fi adventure novel ‘The Island of Dr. Moreau’, and the mankind-versus-aliens novel ‘The War of the Worlds’. Wells occupies one of the central seats in the canon of science-fiction literature and his writing inspired other celebrated authors such as Ray Bradbury and Philip K. Dick. Wells’ stories are still widely read to this day and have had numerous cinematic adaptations including ‘The Invisible Man’ starring Elisabeth Moss.
Edition
Printed pages79 Sider
Publish date06 Apr 2022
Published bySAGA Egmont
Languageeng
ISBN epub9788726596526
News in your inbox
Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe now
Language:
Danish
English
German
All other languages
Format
Printed book
Pdf
Epub
Audiobook